How To Reinstate a Suspended Georgia License
Do you need to reinstate your suspended Georgia drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.
Driving with a suspended Georgia drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Georgia license. Select from the options below to get started.
Online application assistance can simplify the process for many DMV related services, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to the free forms and general instructions available from the DMV offices or websites, you will receive a comprehensive Easy Guide™ containing information relevant to your service needs. Where possible, we will prepare your DMV forms and/or provide links to DMV online services. Via our partners at Road America, you will also receive 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service. In addition, you will be able to take advantage of a free membership to DMV Advisors, a state-specific help desk prepared to answer any driver-related questions or concerns you may have. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.
2: By mail, if eligible (read below for instructions)
Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DDS in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DDS.
3: Via a local DDS office
If your prefer to access DDS services in person or your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at a physical DDS office location. Varying DDS offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DDS closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your local DDS allows you to make a personal appointment. Read more below to see if an in person visit is either preferred or required.
Reasons for a Suspended Georgia Drivers License
Driving Under the Influence - DUI
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol will result in suspension of your driving privileges for a period determined by the number of similar violations and the time between violations. A suspension due to a DUI may last for up to 120 days upon your first offense, up to five years for more serious offenses. You will also be required to complete a DUI program before your license is reinstated.
Depending on the degree of your violation, you may be able to apply for a limited permit allowing you to drive between school and work. Additional DUIs may result in further suspension.
For full step-by-step instructions on how to reinstate your suspended Georgia license, visit Drivers-licenses.org.
Not Completing Traffic School
As penalty for a traffic violation, Georgia drivers may be asked to complete a court-ordered traffic school course. Failure to complete a traffic course will result in a suspension of your driving privileges.
Failure to Appear on a Traffic Summons or Pay Fine
Also, if you have been issued a traffic summons or a fine, and have not appeared in court or paid the full amount, you may be issued an indefinite suspension of your Georgia driver license.
Lack of Auto Insurance
The state of Georgia requires that owners of motor vehicles maintain at least a minimum level of car insurance. Failure to have adequate insurance on your vehicle may result in an indefinite suspension of your driver license.
Suspension for Points
If you accrue too many points on your license in a short period of time it will be suspended for an indefinite amount of time. These points will remain on your driver record for up to 24 months, starting from the date of conviction.
Traffic Violation resulting in personal injury or death – No DUI
If your traffic violation resulted in death or serious bodily injury, but did not involve Driving While Under the Influence (DUI), your license will be suspended for 3 months to 1 year.